CentOS is NOT dead. Please Stop Saying It Is (at least until you read this)

Benjamin Porter
13 min readDec 12, 2020
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Note: I work for Red Hat, but I work on OpenShift stuff and am NOT a part of RHEL or CentOS in a professional capacity. I am a community member, and have been for almost 10 years now, much longer than I’ve worked at Red Hat. I have run CentOS in personal production for years and rely on it. Everything I am about to say is my opinion alone, and is not an official statement from Red Hat in any way. As employees we are allowed (and encouraged!) to participate in the community, and that is what I am doing with this blog post. This post will not make public anything internal.

Since the news broke Tuesday about the changing role of CentOS (aka the death of CentOS) my inbox and chat have exploded with questions. Until now I’ve said very little because I was still processing it myself. I make great effort to think rationally and logically, eschewing the type of emotional thinking and knee jerking that pervades much of our society today. I think I’m ready to talk.

My initial reaction to the news was anger, and a feeling that Red Hat was doing something evil to the community, which is a distinctly un-Red Hat thing to do. Many others inside and outside of Red Hat had the same reaction as well, and we had some hard conversations and debates about what was going on. I grieved the loss of CentOS, which…

--

--

Benjamin Porter

Ben Porter is a Software Engineer who specializes in distributed applications (like web apps). He is currently Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at Ameelio.org